Three OHA alumni capture Clarkson Cup

Mar 15, 2016

The Okanagan Hockey Group is pleased to congratulate OHA alumni Erica Kromm, Gina Kingsbury, Christine Atkins and the Calgary Inferno on winning the Clarkson Cup as Canadian Women’s Hockey League champions.

clarkson_cup_2016_crop.jpgThe Inferno defeated Les Canadiennes de Montreal by a score of 8-3 on Sunday in front of over 4,000 people at the Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa, ON.

Kromm, a former OHA player and Brown University graduate, finished +2 in the game. Kingsbury, a former assistant coach of the OHA Female Prep team, serves in the same role with the Inferno, while Atkins, a former head athletic therapist at Okanagan Hockey, is the athletic therapist.

The Canadian Women’s Hockey League was founded in 2007 and currently has five teams: Boston, Brampton, Calgary, Montreal and Toronto. 


Sign Up!Join Our mailing List to get updates and exclusive content direct from Okanagan Hockey

Looking for a program you can trust?

We have over 50 years of experience.

In 2010 I was fortunate enough to play at the Okanagan Hockey Academy on the Midget Prep team. With coaches like Robert Dirk and Greg Holst it was an unbelievable year. I have to this day still never been on such a close-knit team. It was my first year of midget hockey and that meant a lot more travel. Playing in the CSSHL I got the opportunity to play in some pretty awesome spots. The league helped me learn to stay on top of school, which has helped me not only in college but also in junior. I was able to make an easy jump to junior and college academically with the help of Dave Nackoney, a guidance counselor at Penticton Secondary School who works with all the student athletes. To this day if I need anything he is always more than willing to help. It is the great staff that left such an impression on me, and made it possible for me to be where I am today.